A password-protected directory or area is a folder which can be accessed only if a username and a password are provided, so no unauthorized people could observe its content. This option may be used for the primary folder of a specific website or only for a certain subfolder based on the needs you have. For example, if you are developing a new site and you don't want people to see it prior to it being completely ready, you should limit the access to it as a whole, whereas if you need only some people to be able to access certain files, you could password-protect only a certain folder, while the rest of the site could be seen by anyone. In either case, a “403 Forbidden” error page will appear in the event that the login details the visitor enters are not correct. Even a direct link to a file shall not work if any folder above it is password-protected.

Password Protected Directories in Website Hosting

All of our Linux website hosting packages include a really convenient tool that'll permit you to protect any folder within your account from unauthorized access with simply two clicks. As soon as you log in to your Hepsia website hosting CP, you will just have to visit the Password Protection section, to choose the main domain or subdomain, to specify the folder which has to be protected - the root folder or some folder under it, and then to input the username and the password which have to be used to access the content in question. The function will be active at once, so in case you make an effort to open the folder/website, you will be prompted to type in the login info. You may create or remove many usernames for the very same folder, if necessary. When you navigate to the File Manager section, all password-protected folders shall be marked with a tiny padlock icon.